Purchasing insurance is something nearly every car owner must do in order to drive legally. While there are other ways to meet the state's Financial Responsibility Law, one of the easiest ways to begin the process is to use car insurance quotes. There are several methods you can employ to get car insurance quotes in Florida. But before you do, always review state insurance requirements so you know the quotes you get will keep you legal if you purchase a policy.
Florida has one of the lowest requirements for car insurance. At minimum, you must purchase a policy with 10/20/10 coverage that includes $10,000 for bodily injury per accident, $20,000 limit for all injuries sustained in a single accident, and $10,000 for property damage. Although these lower coverage requirements may result in better rates, you could face significant financial liability if expenses exceed those limits. You can be sued and be required by the courts to pay for the difference out of your own pocket.